So What is “Eating Gluten-Free”?

One question almost everyone asks when they find out about my new “eating challenge” – that’s what I like to call it – is “what is eating gluten-free?” And to be honest, I wasn’t 100% sure what I could and couldn’t be eating when I started out save for the pastas, breads, and doughs (all of my favourite things).

Gluten-Free Eating

So what is safe to eat? Here is a list of things to absolutely avoid:

  • Barley (malt, malt flavoring and malt vinegar are usually made from barley)
  • Rye
  • Triticale (a cross between wheat and rye)
  • Wheat products, including:
    • Bulgur
    • Durum flour
    • Farina
    • Graham flour
    • Kamut
    • Semolina
    • Spelt* – this one depends on who you ask. I know lots of gluten-intolerants who eat this, so I eat it occasionally. I don’t seem to react to it like I react to wheat now, so I think it’s safe for me.

Then there are the things that are suggested to avoid, or at least check the ingredients:

  • Beer
  • Baked goods including breads, cakes, pies, cookies, crackers
  • Candies
  • Cereals
  • French fries
  • Gravies, salad dressings, sauces (including soy sauce)
  • Imitation meat or seafood
  • Pasta
  • Soups and soup bases
  • Oats* – also a tricky one based on some cross-contamination

It’s certainly a long list, and one positive thing about this challenge has been a better awareness of what I am eating and what goes into my food.